

WHITE MOUNTAIN APACHE TRIBE

A Sovereign Tribal Nation

(Approving Certification of the 2018 General Election Results)

- WHEREAS, Article VI of the Tribal Constitution of the White Mountain Apache Tribe requires regular elections to be held for Tribal Council; and
- WHEREAS, pursuant to Article VI, Section 8 of the Tribal Constitution, the Tribal Council adopted an Election Ordinance which mandates that a general election be held on the first Wednesday of April during an election year, established by Article VI, Section 1 of the Tribal Constitution; and
- WHEREAS, the 2018 General Election was held by the White Mountain Apache Tribe on Wednesday, April 4, 2018, wherein Tribal Council candidates submitted their names to a vote of the people for Chairman, Vice Chairman and Council Offices in Districts I, II, III and IV; and
- WHEREAS, the Tribal Election Commission has certified to the Tribal Council of the White Mountain Apache Tribe that the General Election is complete and has been carried out in accordance with provisions of the Tribal Constitution and the Election Code of the White Mountain Apache Tribe, and has certified that out of 10,030 eligible voters, a total of 4,818 ballots were cast, of which the following number of votes were received by the individuals listed below whose names were on the ballot for the following offices:

OFFICE OF TRIBAL CHAIRMAN

	Gwendena Lee-Gatewood Kasey Velasquez	<u>2510</u> 2286				
	OFFICE OF VICE-CHAIRMAN					
	Tony Alsenay Jerome Kasey, III	$\frac{1743}{3003}$				
	DISTRICT I: (Cibecue/Oak Creek/Grasshopper)					
	Wilkie Gregg, Sr. Travis Tessay, Sr.	<u>262</u> 432				
	DISTRICT II: (Carrizo/Forestdale/Cedar Creek)					
	Renaldo Dazen Colleen Faden	<u>280</u> 239				
DISTRICT III: (East Fork/Turkey Creek/Seven Mile)						
	Alvin DeClay, Sr. Kino Torino	<u>549</u> <u>481</u>				

Resolution No. 04-2018-75

DISTRICT IV: (Canyon Day/Whiteriver/North Fork/Hon-Dah/McNary)

Gary Alchesay	1496
Alvena Bush	1134
Robert Lupe, Jr.	989
Verna Westover	998
and	

- WHEREAS, a true copy of the Election Commission Certification of Election Results is attached and incorporated by this reference; and
- **WHEREAS**, the Tribal Council concurs with the Certification of the General Election Results presented by the Tribal Election Commission and concludes that the Commission's certification should be affirmed and accepted by the Tribal Council.

BE IT RESOLVED by the Tribal Council of the White Mountain Apache Tribe that pursuant to Chapter 5 of the Tribal Election Code, the Certification of General Election Results submitted by the Tribal Election Commission for the Office of Chairman, Vice-Chairman and Council Representatives for Districts I, II, III and IV are hereby accepted and the attached Certification of General Election Results is hereby incorporated into this resolution by reference.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED by the Tribal Council of the White Mountain Apache Tribe that the Tribal Council positions which were the subject of this election shall be filled as follows:

OFFICE OF TRIBAL CHAIRWOMAN

Gwendena Lee-Gatewood

OFFICE OF VICE-CHAIRMAN

Jerome Kasey, III

DISTRICT I: (Cibecue/Oak Creek/Grasshopper)

Travis Tessay, Sr.

DISTRICT II: (Carrizo/Forestdale/Cedar Creek)

Renaldo Dazen

DISTRICT III: (East Fork/Turkey Creek/Seven Mile)

Alvin DeClay, Sr.

DISTRICT IV: (Canyon Day/Whiteriver/North Fork/Hon-Dah/McNary)

Gary Alchesay Alvena Bush

Resolution No. 04-2018-75

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED by the Tribal Council of the White Mountain Apache Tribe that it hereby directs that in the event this Resolution directly conflicts with the Tribal Constitution or Tribal Ordinances, or in the event any material facts concerning the issues presented are later found to be false, this Resolution shall be deemed null and void and have no legal effect.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED by the Tribal Council of the White Mountain Apache Tribe that it hereby directs that in the event that this Resolution conflicts with a prior Resolution or Policy, this Resolution shall supersede and govern the conflicting subject matter.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED by the Tribal Council of the White Mountain Apache Tribe that the Chairman, or in his absence, the Vice-Chairman, is hereby authorized to execute any and all documents necessary to effectuate the intent of this Resolution.

The foregoing resolution was on <u>APRIL 5, 2018</u> duly adopted by a vote of <u>//</u> for, <u>O</u> against, and <u>O</u> abstentions by the Tribal Council of the White Mountain Apache Tribe, pursuant to authority vested in it under the enumerated powers listed in Article IV, Section 1 of the WMAT Constitution, so ratified on September 30, 1993, and federally recognized pursuant to Section 16 of the Indian Reorganization Act of June 18, 1934 (48 Stat. 984).

4-5-18 Ronnie Lupe, Tribal Chairman Date

aren Vumkere

Doreen T. Numkena, Tribal Secretary



WHITE MOUNTAIN APACHE TRIBE

OFFICIAL GENERAL ELECTION RESULTS APRIL 4, 2018 OFFICIAL



Convergence of Service	OFFICIAL							WTAIN APAC			
	DISTRICT I	DISTRICT II	DISTRICT II	DISTRICT III	DISTRICT III	DISTRICT IV	DISTRICT IV	DISTRICT IV			
	Cibecue	Carrizo	Cedar Creek	East Fork	Seven Mile	Whiteriver	Canyon Day	McNary	Absentee	TOTAL	%
Chairman					M						
WENDENA LEE-GATEWOOI	380	73	192	275	191	987	281	103	28	2510	52.34%
KASEY VELASQUEZ	318	75	164	301	258	819	278	61	12	2286	47.66%
Vice-Chairman											
TONY ALSENAY	308	49	113	219	187	593	200	57	17	1743	36.73%
JEROME KASEY, III	385	98	244	339	258	1196	357	103	23	3003	63.27%
Council Member District I											
WILKIE GREGG, SR.	261								1	262	37.75%
TRAVIS TESSAY, SR.	432								0	432	62.25%
Council Member District II											
RENALDO DAZEN		96	177						7	280	53,95%
COLLEEN FADEN	J	52	184						3	239	46.05%
Council Member District III											
ALVIN DeCLAY, SR.				253	292				4	549	53.30%
KINO TORINO				323	152				6	481	46.70%
Council Member District IV											
GARY ALCHESAY						1064	329	88	15	1496	32.40%
ALVENA BUSH						780	258	79	17	1134	24.56%
ROBERT LUPE, JR.						639	273	67	10	. 989	21.42%
and the second se						744	191	57	6	998	21.62%

STATISTICS BY DISTRICT	ELIGIBLE	ACTUAL	N VOTING
DISTRICT I	1505	711	47.24%
DISTRICT II	832	512	61.54%
DISTRICT III	1853	1043	56.29%
DISTRICT IV	5840	2552	43.70%
COMBINED	10030	4818	48.04%

lene

CERTIFICATION

Undersigned members of the White Mountain Apeche Tribal Election Commission, hereby certify the above to be a form and accurate abstract of the number of votes cast at the polls for the candidates shown herein for the General Election held on April 4. 2018. Murtis Suttle f

R LC